Adrian Piccoli MP


19 May 2017

Member for Murray Adrian Piccoli and Member for Albury Greg Aplin announced today that the Murray Regional Tourism Organisation (MRTO) will receive continued NSW Government funding.

The organisation will receive $90,000 per year until 2019, after a review into tourism led by the NSW Department of Industry, with the support of the NSW Cross Border Commissioner. 

Member for Albury, Greg Aplin said the Murray region is unique and the NSW Government has committed to funding the MRTO, the only cross-border, jointly funded Regional Tourism Organisation.  

“The Department of Industry review recommended continued funding of the MRTO with revised governance arrangements to ensure MRTO can work effectively to help deliver NSW Government commitments,” Mr Aplin said. 

“In addition to funding, an implementation and change plan will be developed, which sets out new roles and responsibilities for both MRTO and the Riverina Murray Destination Network. This will enable both organisations to work together in their efforts to promote the region.” 

Member for Murray, Adrian Piccoli, said the funding would ensure the continued promotion of the region. 

“The Murray region has so much to offer visitors, and I’m happy to see funding provided by the NSW Government to MRTO to continue their work right across the area.  

“The NSW Government is committed to growing tourism in the Murray, supporting jobs and development in local hotels, restaurants, attractions and businesses,” Mr Piccoli added.  

Minister for Tourism and Major Events, Adam Marshall, commended all regional stakeholders for their work in reaching this outcome. 

“I thank MRTO and the Riverina Murray Destination Network for their ongoing co-operation, and hope they can continue to work together to attract local and international visitors to the Murray region,” Mr Marshall said. 

“I received strong representations from MPs in the Murray region, and I’m pleased this funding will provide long-term security for MRTO, and enable them to continue their work promoting NSW destinations along the Murray.”

Electorate Offices

GRIFFITH:Phone: (02) 6962 6644
Facsimilie: (02) 6962 7725
104 Banna Avenue, Griffith  NSW  2680
DENILIQUIN:Phone: (03)  5881 7034
Facsimilie:  (03)  5881 7839
228 Cressy Street, DENILIQUIN  NSW  2710


Parliament House Office (Sitting Days only)

Phone: (02) 9230 2313
Facsimile: (02) 9320 3494
Postal Address:
Level 9
Parliament House
Macquarie Street
Sydney NSW 2000